Wednesday, 1 March 2017

March books to look forward to!



There are so many amazing books out this month, but I have picked the few that I am lucky enough to already have on my TBR pile.



1. The Bookshop Girl by Sylvia Bishop- out 2nd March

Last year I was hugely lucky enough to win a copy of Sylvia's children's debut, Erica's Elephant and I completely fell in love with it. You can imagine my excitement when I got sent an early copy of her next book The Bookshop Girl which sounds like it's going to be just as delightful.

This story is about a little girl named Property Jones, so-called because she was left in the lost property cupboard of a bookshop when she was five years old. Property loves living in the bookshop, but she has a whopper of a secret; she can't actually read! So Property doesn't see the newspaper article announcing the chance to win the Montgomery Book Emporium, the biggest and most magnificent bookshop in the world! When her family win the competition, Property finds herself moving to the Emporium, a magical place filled with floor upon floor of books and a very bad-tempered cat. But all is not at it seems at the Emporium and soon Property Jones finds herself in a whole heap of trouble. 


2. See How They Lie by Sue Wallman- out 2nd March

I read Sue's debut Lying about Last Summer last year as well and it was actually the first YA thriller I had read in a long while. This was chosen for the Zoella book club which was absolutely brilliant and now Sue's next book is due out VERY soon!

Mae feels lucky to have grown up at Hummingbird Creek, an elite wellness retreat where rich teens with psychological problems can get the help they need from her father, a prominent psychiatrist. The Creek has world-class cuisine, a state-of-the-art sports centre and the latest spa treatments. Every aspect of daily life is monitored for optimal health, and there are strict rules for everyone. When Mae is caught breaking the rules, the response is severe. She starts to question everything about her highly controlled life. And at the Creek, asking questions can be dangerous


3. Damage by Eve Ainsworth- out 2nd March

I had the privilege of getting to hear Eve talk about her latest book Damage at Scholastic's Blogger's Book Feast and it honestly sounded so intriguing! 

Eve Ainsworth's powerful third novel. Outwardly confident, skater girl Gabi cannot move past a traumatic incident - and turns to self harm to take away the pain.



4. The Witchfinder's sister by Beth Underdown- out 2nd March

'The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six...' was more than enough to peak my interest with this book! It has been ages since I read a historical book and the fact that this is also based on a true story has me very very intrigued.

1645. When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.

But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names.

To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him?
And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?


Based on a true story, this beautiful and haunting historical thriller is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, The Miniaturist and Burial Rites.

5. The Escape by C.L.Taylor- out 23rd March

I am a massive fan of C.L. Taylor, her favourite book of mine being The Lie which was released in 2015 and is still one of my all time favourite thrillers. I was incredibly excited to get her next book The Escape in the post and shall be reading it very soon!

"Look after your daughter's things. And your daughter…"
When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn't.

The stranger knows Jo's name, she knows her husband Max and she's got a glove belonging to Jo's two year old daughter Elise.

What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo's own husband turn against her.

No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there's only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.


6. The Little Teashop of Lost and Found by Trisha Ashley-out 9th March

I have been a Trisha Ashley fan for yonks, and have read nearly all of her books, there are only one or two that I need to get round to. I have seen a few people say that this is her best yet, so I am intrigued to see if it beats my current favourite of hers, The Twelve Days of Christmas.

Alice Rose is a foundling, discovered on the Yorkshire moors above Haworth as a baby. Adopted but then later rejected again by a horrid step-mother, Alice struggles to find a place where she belongs. Only baking – the scent of cinnamon and citrus and the feel of butter and flour between her fingers – brings a comforting sense of home. 

So it seems natural that when she finally decides to return to Haworth, Alice turns to baking again, taking over a run-down little teashop and working to set up an afternoon tea emporium. 

Luckily she soon makes friends – including a Grecian god-like neighbour – who help her both set up home and try to solve the mystery of who she is. There are one or two last twists in the dark fairytale of Alice’s life to come . . . but can she find her happily ever after? 


There sums up my five books coming out in March I am looking forward to and quite the mix as well! Let me know if any take your fancy.

No comments:

Post a comment

CUSTOM BLOG DESIGN CREATED BY PRETTYWILDTHINGS